- 1879. May 15, Adoption of a protective tariff ("The National Policy").
- 1880. Royal Canadian Academy of Arts founded; first meeting and exhibition, Mar. 6. May 11. Sir A. T. Galt appointed first Canadian High Commissioner in London. Sept. 1, All British possessions in North America and adjacent islands except Newfoundland and its dependencies annexed to Canada by Imperial Order in Council of July 31. Oct. 21, Signing of the contract with the present Canadian Pacific Railway Co. for the completion of the Canadian Pacific railway.
- 1881. April 4, Second Dominion Census. May 2, First sod of the Canadian Pacific railway as a company line turned.
- 1882. May 8, Provisional districts of Assiniboia, Saskatchewan, Athabaska, and Alberta formed. May 25, First meeting of the Royal Society of Canada. Aug. 23, Regina established as seat of government of the Northwest Territories.
- 1883. Sept. 5, Formation of the Methodist Church in Canada; united conference.
- 1884. May 24, Sir Charles Tupper, High Commissioner in London. Aug. 11, Order in Council settling the boundary of Ontario and Manitoba.
- 1885. Mar. 26, Outbreak of Riel's second rebellion in the Northwest. April 24, Engagement at Fish Creek. May 2, Engagement at Cut Knife. May 12, Taking of Batoche. May 16, Surrender of Riel. Aug. 24, First census of the Northwest Territories. Nov. 7, Last spike of Canadian Pacific Railway main line driven at Craigellachie. Nov. 16, Execution of Riel.
- 1886. April 6, Incorporation of Vancouver.
 June 7, Archbishop Taschereau of
 Quebec made first Canadian
 Cardinal. June 13, Vancouver destroyed by fire. June 28, First
 tbrough train of the Canadian
 Pacific Railway left Montreal for
 Port Moody. July 31, First quinquennial census of Manitoba.
- 1887. Interprovincial Conference at Quebec. April 4, First Colonial Conference in London.
- 1888. Feb. 15, Signing of Fishery Treaty between United Kingdom and United States at Washington. August, Rejection of Fishery Treaty by United States Senate.
- 1890. Mar. 31, The Manitoba School Act abolished separate schools.
- 1891. April 5, Third Dominion Census. June 6, Death of Sir John A. Macdonald.

- 1892. Feb. 29, Washington Treaty, providing for arbitration of the Bering Sea Seal Fisheries question. July 22, Boundary Convention between Canada and United States.
- 1893. April 4, First sitting of the Bering Sea Arbitration Court. Dec. 18, Archbishop Machray, of Rupert's Land, elected first Anglican Primate of all Canada.
- 1894. June 28, Second Colonial Conference at Ottawa. Dec. 12, Death of Sir John Thompson at Windsor Castle.
- 1895. Sept. 10, Opening of new Sault Ste. Marie canal.
- 1896. April 24, Sir Donald Smith (Lord Strathcona) High Commissioner in London. August, Gold discovered in the Klondyke.
- 1897. June 22, Celebration throughout the Empire of the Diamond Jubilee of H.M. Queen Victoria. July, Third Colonial Conference in London. Dec. 17, Award of the Bering Sea Arbitration Court.
- 1898. June 13, The Yukon district established as a separate Territory. Aug. 1,
 The British Preferential Tariff went
 into force. Aug. 23, Meeting at
 Quebec of the Joint High Commission between Canada and the United
 States. Dec. 25, British Imperial
 penny (2 cent) postage introduced.
- 1899. Oct. 1, Mgr. Diomède Falconio arrived at Quebec as first permanent Apostolic Delegate to Canada. Oct. 11, Beginning of the South African War. Oct. 29, First Canadian contingent left Quebec for South Africa.
- 1900. Feb. 27, Battle of Paardeberg. April 26, Great fire at Ottawa and Hull.
- 1901. Jan 22, Death of Queen Victoria and accession of King Edward VII. April 1, Fourth Dominion Census. Sept. 16-Oct. 21, Visit to Canada of the Duke and Duchess of Cornwall and York (King George V and Queen Mary).
- 1902. May 31, End of South African War; peace signed at Vereeniging. June 30, Meeting of fourth Colonial Conference in London. Aug. 9, Corona-of H. M. King Edward VII. Dec., First message sent by wireless from Canada to the United Kingdom via Cape Breton, N.S.
- 1903. Jan. 24, Signing of the Alaskan Boundary Convention. June 19, Incorporation of Regina. Oct. 20, Award of the Alaskan Boundary Commission.
- 1904. Feb. 1, Dominion Railway Commission established. April 19, Great fire in Toronto. Oct. 8, Incorporation of Edmonton.
- 1905. Sept. 1, Creation of the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Nors.—For references regarding Dominion Government changes, and Provincial Government changes prior to 1937, see Note on p. 45.